bobbin tension

I need help! The bobbin tension on my Lenni is way too tight (thread runs flat on the back with lots of loops, but the front looks great). I have tried loosening the tension in the bobbin case, hand winding the bobbin, lots of different threads, changing the needle, tightening the top thread - nothing has made any difference. Any more suggestions? I am fairly new to the machine, but successfully quilted three large quilts before this problem arose.

What kind of thread are you running on the top and bottom? They may not match well, in terms of tension. You said you have loosened the tension, but do you have a TOWA gauge to check it? Another thought, I often have tension problems when I first start a new full bobbin, especially if it is not a pre-wound. Try starting with a bobbin that is 4/5ths full. Also, check the area underneath the metal spring and the bobbin case (held together with tension screw that you are adjusting). Is there any lint in there?

Thank you both for taking the time and trouble to respond - I have now also read several other posting threads on tension issues and am feeling slightly better knowing that I am not alone in experiencing this problem! I don't (yet) have a TOWA gauge - that may well have to be my next purchase as I think I've now tried everything else!

It would be helpful to know what threads you are using.

Are you trying to adjust the same bobbin over and over again to get things to work?

Try winding an entirely different bobbin, and don't wind it right to the very edge of the bobbin.

Have you dropped your bobbin or bobbin case onto a hard surface?

This could have bent something so that the bobbin case no longer adjusts well, or the bobbin is bent.

If you have not invested in a TOWA bobbin tension gauge, I really suggest you do. It is going to save a lot of frustration at moments like this.