HELP - Loud Sqeaky Noise

meg

hi everyone -

lola is making a loud squeaky/scratchy noise when i quilt. i have cleaned the rails and q-tipped the wheels, oiled the wicks and thoroughly blown out and wd40'd the bobbin case. even took out the little blue thingy in the bobbin and oiled in there. i am trying a new thread combo so have been playing with the tensions and am having success - her stitches look great both front and back - but i am worried about this noise. it is new, loud & not normal. she only squeaks when she is actually sewing...if i move her around without stitching, she is quiet. i am quilting from the front of the machine & it sounds like it is coming from lola - not the frame. but i cant be sure cause i am new at this. i have searched the forums for almost an hour looking and couldnt find the answer. please help if you can. meg

ps - maybe i should make my member name PITA :(

Are you using any rulers? I found on this last quilt when I used a certain ruler that the foot squeaked against the ruler. I thought it was the machine until DH put his head down there while I sewed. He sprayed this great dry lubricant from his woodworking shop on the edge of the ruler, we let it dry and wiped it down so none got on the quilt. Used it again and it was quiet, no squeaking.

Just a thought...

no rulers - r u kidding me? i am still learning how to freehand.

i am pumped that i got to using king tut and i have a good stitch quality. i have dealt with the tension beast and have not been defeated..yet. i will keep thinking about this til i can call amy tomorrow.

thanks for helping.

here is an update...

i checked the blue thingy to make sure it was in right - it was exactly the same as my other bobbin case. ruled that out.