pantographs, need HELP!

Yesterday I decided to do my first pantograph. I practiced all day and needless to say I was not better at the end of the day than when I started. I was practicing with the Whirlpool pattern and thought it looked simple enough (that was before I started practicing). This morning when I went back to the machine I thought maybe I should do something else with this quilt. But I won't give up, I have to start on pantos at some point and it may as well be now! Any suggestions or secrets from some of you experienced quilters would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Crafttlady

One huge tip that helped me....

Don't look right at the laser, look ahead where you are going to be quilting. It was explained to me that when you are driving you don't look at the nose of the car but on the road ahead of you. Hope this helps!

Sandra

I put tape over the end of the laser and put a pin hole in the tape, this helped me. Also, I hold the left handle with two hands and drive it that way. Using my body more than justs my arms helps keep me steady.

Worth a try, but PPP is the best!

Joanne

I just looked up the whirlpool panto to see what it looked like, and I can see where it would be difficult. Anything with long curvy lines will be more difficult to do smoothly than something with shorter curves, especially if you are just beginning. Try something with shorter curves, e.g., Daisy Swirl or something like that. I don't mean a dense panto with lots of tiny curves and turns, but something that is more open but whose curves are maybe a little shorter and less flowing. They will be easier to do well rather than something with big circles and long gentle curves. Just because you are just "following the lines" with a panto doesn't mean they are easy to do!