cjtinkle

12 or 14 foot frame?

I have a week to make up my mind on the frame length for my Millennium. While I can fit a 14 foot frame, it will be really tight, I'd only be able to walk around one end instead of both.

Will a 12 foot frame be limiting?

Signature.jpg

Hi again, just answered your other question too! For me, I've not needed to do a quilt that wouldn't fit on my 12' frame, and I've been quilting since 2006. Not as long as some on this forum! I think the 14' frame is good if you want to do king size comforters or bedspreads, but usual quilts will fit easily on the 12' system. I've got quite a large room, but I still butt the left hand end of the frame up to the wall, which gives me loads of room the other end - enough to walk around, and have my DSM in a cabinet on my right as well.Hope this helps a bit.

Shelley

Shelley

Heritage Country Quilting

Western Australia

2009 APQS Millenium, hand guided.

'Waltzing Matilda" or Milly Tilly!

I have an 11 ft. frame. I really wanted a 12 ft. but it would have been tight and the built in ironing board would never have come out of the wall again! :D So I asked if APQS could make an 11 ft. and it was no problem, no extra charge. If 14 ft. won't work for you then you might ask if they will do 13 ft.

EF895DFA46EABF5DCB57E11F31E1DE91.png

Carmen in the Ozarks

CJ,

I've had my 12-footer since 1994 and am able to do any king-size quilt, but not a king-size bedspread. A 12-foot table will quilt a project up to 126 inches wide.

The advantage of a 14-foot table comes into play if you decide to use after-market gadgets such as the Hartley Fence or Circle Lord (products designed to help you do specific patterns using a stylus and idler arm attached to the machine). With the extra 2 feet of table space, these accessories can remain on the table and still be out of your way. I must take them off and put them back on again if I have a big quilt that interferes with their operation or required space.