Blowing off steam....................!!!!!

Just need to vent and no one here except the dogs who don't really listen. The local shop saw my freehand quilt I was so proud of (feel like a real quilter now post) and asked me to make a quilt, wall hanging size, to display in their main window. I decided to make it simple and with spring pastels and large white areas to show off the quilting. Easy said, easy done.

While in Sisters, Or., at the quilt show I bought some beautiful varigated thread and some pattern packs and decided today to try them both on the sampler. I drew on the pattern I wanted in the large open areas. I have never used a stencil or pattern before so this was new to me. Pinned on the piece and threaded up to go. The thread is rayon, made in Mexico, can't find a brand name but is gorgeous. It won't work on my machine:-( Did the bottom line in the bobbin, used Sew-aid on the spool, etc., all the known solutions. I finally said enough and frogged out the bit I had completed. It continually broke when sewing. I switched to my favorite cotton thread in a soft cream color and after doing two of the blocks decided I didn't like the design. So started frogging it out and ripped my top!!! I mean a big ol rip! So I grabbed my scissors and cut the offending blocks out of the sandwich including the backing and the batting! I am going to run the top thru the washer and get the markings off then make a new section to replace the cutout part. Sigh, it is 103 degrees, my cooler in the sewing room is laboring, I am hot, angry at myself and throwing in the towel for today. Thankfully it is a simple block and I have lots of the material. Some days it just doesn't pay to get out of bed!!! On the brighter side a new customer picked up her quilt this morning and was estatic over it and is bringing another one next month. I can look at a pattern and pretty well do it freehand but this pre-marking is a killer for me. Think I'll stick to what I do best.