Avoiding Burn Out??

njquiltergirl

Hi.

As professional longarm quilters, burnout from the hours and pressure is not unusual. More and more, with this struggling economy, customers are fewer.

How do you balance quilting work, family time, YOU time and keep your sanity...or is that presumed to be gone!!??

I have two friends who have been at it for a long time who are really struggling and I'd like to pass along some helpful suggestions. I'm still new at all this and enjoying it but would really like to help my friends.

Thanks!

Lisa

APQS Liberty

CL

NW NJ

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

hi lisa - my fellow jersey girl. where ya been?

im sorry that your friends are experiencing burnout. maybe a weekly lunch or dinner with them would help. might give them a chance to laugh a little, or commiserate, or to vent..or drink heavily. sometimes having a fun thing to look forward to helps me deal with stress.

I'm with Kristina---I only do quilting for fun.

I learned this because at one time I did have a hobby I loved, and turned it into a business. Three and half years later I gave it all up (big time burnout). To this day I don't even want to see another wholesale show room or go to market. I don't even have my samples anymore. Total burnout.

A lot of it was my fault though---Time management is SO important with any hobby or craft business, especially if you are home based instead of leasing a space outside your home. There is something positive to "going to work" ---literally away from home base.