Wanna do a website

Dragonflyquilts

I have been thinking about doing a website with my quilting business, but I am not sure of where to start or what to include. Pricing, pictures, coupon, etc.

I do have free webspace with my ISP and would like to use that since I am a new business starter. I also have access to microsoft publisher.

Would love to have some suggestions.

Tracey Gelbaugh

Dragonfly Quilts

APQS Millenium

Hi Tracey,

I'd suggest looking at the hundreds of existing quilter's websites out there already to get ideas for a) what info to include, and B) what you like, as far as design. Just don't copy! LOL

You won't be able to make a website with Publisher. Yes, I know it says it can, but trust me, you can't. You could put a flyer up, but not a website.

Microsoft's Frontpage is very easy to learn and use. A lot of people poopoo websites built with it, but that's ridiculous in my opinion. In my "former" life, I was a web designer. I worked for the local ISP's as well as contracting quite a bit on my own. I can hand code with the best of them, but in my old age I've gotten lazy, and I love using Frontpage.

My personal website is built in FP (well, most of it is, the journal part is actually all scripted, and separate entirely, but you can't really tell).

To make it even easier, you can purchase pre-built templates, and simply customize them to suit yourself. There are many sites that offer professional looking ones for folks who don't want or can't design a site on their own. A good place to browse some are at http://www.pixelmill.net.

Hope that helps!

Guest Linda S

I made my website (not yet available for public consumption as I'm not in business until probably November) with Frontpage. I also use Dreamweaver at work. You can use just about anything to create a webpage, it's just easier to have software that will readily allow you to install links, etc.