scallop guide/ruler

Amy, Out APQS tech; told me when coming to a point you should slow down like you are coming up to a stop sign. That way your points stay.......well, pointy!!:P It also helps to not pull up the bobbin thread on those points.

I don't use rulers for this design, but I use the Circle Lord 7 Treasures large board/template. Your fabric moves even though you have it tight, and that makes a difference!

This is very hard to do, and I think your quilting looks very nice! ;) Maybe you are not using the right ruler?? Try hugging the ruler. You might like the results better??

Hey I'm no expert, that's for sure, but I hope I helped you some!!!

Hi Donna, I have not seen this ruler before! It looks VERY VERY LONG!! :o :o Long rulers are pretty difficult to use, even for the experts.

This is what I would do to help control your ruler better:

1) Get those little rubber sticky thingies (you can buy at JoAnn) or the sandpaper dots will work, too. Put a few along the middle area. They adhere to the back of the ruler and help to keep the ruller from moving around.

2) While in SR mode turn up the "stitches per inch" to 13 or even 15. This causes the hopping foot to make smaller hops. These smaller hops help you to control the foot movement better as you follow (slowly) around the ruler.

3) Always always keep your hand that is holding the ruler right around the area where the hopping foot is. This way you have the best control of holding the ruler.

4) Before stitching your lines with the ruler, try marking with temporary blue or purple pen the little points that you want to go on. This will help keep your design more consistent.

5) Concentrate, watch the needle, go very very slow with rulers, especially this long one. Sending you positive thoughts.

6) :)