How to set spacing between panto's

I eye ball it. Then I take my hopping foot across the quilt to make sure it dosen't overlap the previous row. Pretty scientific huh?! ;) Marcia Stevens says to measure the lenght of your quilt vs the width of your panto and evenly space it on your quilt. I don't like the way it looks, and I don't mind having a partial row on the bottom of the quilts. None of my customer have even noticed and if they did they don't seem to care.

Okay I have a question regarding pantos....personally I have avoided them like the plague... The 5 or 6 that I have done have turned out beautiful, but I always figured that I got lucky more so than I knew what I was doing.

HOW do you keep from going down the quilt and finding that your last row will have to be sewn with half a design on the quilt and half a design on the leader canvas?

I have never had this happen, so I figured I got lucky...I need your opinion on this.

I'm a newbie, but will share what I was taught. I always use the dotted design at the bottom [ it's a portion of the design ] as my first row. This is where you would line up for turning. Then if you don't end with a full row it still looks good. If I have to do a portion of a row I put a long piece of thin molding on the panto to show where the edge of the quilt is. I hope this makes sense !!:D

So what you are saying is that its okay if you have a half design on the bottom....that its not a total cardinal sin if that happens.....I guess I was always panicky about something that wasn't an issue however the LQS that I use to quilt for was always talking the customers out of them (not that it hurt my feelings at all)...they would tell them it was impossible to get them perfect so they didn't recommend them. It didn't make any difference what I put on the quilt, panto, meander, custom or heirloom it was the same price per square foot.