How did you know??

I am just starting out researching long arm quilting as a business. I have only been quilting a few short years in my spare time which hasn't been much lately. But I really love it and would love to be able to make some money while doing something I love. But isn't that what everyone wants?! Anyway, I am very interested in this because it would be a way for me to stay home while I raise a family and work part time at this. Do any of you do this just part time? Does it work out?

I have also read a lot of posts from people that had never used a long arm before, but yet bought one and opened shop. How did you know you would become good enough to sell your services or even that you would like long arm? I have a hard time thinking that someone would lend me money in order to buy the machine once I tell them I have never done it before. Was this a leap of faith? Did you take classes before buying one? Or is it if you're a good quilter = you'll be good at long arm? I'm just curious how people got started. I just don't want to make a big mistake when these machines are quite an investment. I appreciate any info and insight you can give. Thanks!