I want to start a longarm quilting business

Hello everyone. I'm new visitor here and I have some questions. I have been working on my business plan for the last two years off and on and for the last six months I've been working on it every week now. I'm anxious to get it completed. I need some help. I'm working on my business plan and I know I want to start a longarm quilting business and I know there is business out there. I have contacted some longarm quilters and most of them are all backup 3 to 6 months. I'm very excited and can not wait to get my machine. Is there a easy way to figure out the esitmated pricing for your work, what all should be included in the business plan, I read that APQS has a business plan format, can I get a copy of that, what I would like to do is purchase the top of the line machine and hope someday to be able to quilt any designs from the basic to the extreme. I'm a quilter myself and I have 15 different type and sized of quilt tops unquilted. I did get two quilts quilted by a new quilter and she is now back up about 3 months out. I would love to do my own and have this wonderful machine. Please help me. My goal is to get my machine this year. Thanks everyone.

Jacqueline in Minnesota

APQS has been wonderful!

1. The board is choc-full of information from alot of ladies who are already doing this as a business. The board topics contain info about pricing, but!!!

You must shop locally (your quilt shops, etc) to determine what your competition is charging. There's no sense in marketing yourself to the local market at 2x what the locals are charging.

2. Read books, the Business of Machine Quilting is brand new and a terrific resource of information!

3. Get the APQS package of info...this can help you do your business plan. (2 years? I had mine done in less time than that because of the APQS family!)