Making myself crazy....

Question: What standard of perfection do y'all use? I'm making myself completely insane today wanting perfect-perfect-perfect.

I'm relatively new at this (got my machine - a Millenium - in June, but had done FMQ using a Bernina with a BSR before) and tend to... ahem... challenge myself. The first quilt I threw on - after messing about with muslins for an hour - I used batiks, King Tut thread, a sheet backer, and decided, just for the hell of it, to do ruler work. I've done various things since then, mostly involving pantos and old, ugly, or just plain challenging quilt tops. (I... er... went a little crazy when Urban Elementz had that sale.)

Now, I'm prepping to move to Austin (I leave in 2 weeks, my stuff leaves in 6ish months) and have to finish up a whole load of tops before storing my machine where neither my roommate nor my cats can get at it. One is a really unique, pastel, colour blocked quilt for a friend to give to her mom. She's drawn in each block. Navy back, navy thread on the back and a cream colour thread on the front (Can-Sew for both, which my dealer recommends.) Warm & Natural batting.

So, I cleaned, oiled, etc. Wound bobbins. Got myself all set, feeling very proud of myself. Did a test for tension - I'd had king tut on previously to do a panto, and that turned out gorgeous. Set the bobbin, it doesn't quite freefall, but comes close. Approximated the top. Was way off. Adjust. Get little navy dots on top. Adjust. Get little white dots on bottom. Adjust. Get *almost* perfect tension. It looks great about 75% of the time. When I make circles & loops on the test, I get navy dots on top (if it were a clock) from 9pm to 12 am, going clockwise. Same if I go counterclockwise. Using both stitch regulator and non-stitch regulated modes.