I'm new

Hi APQSers,

I'm a rank beginner here, don't even know if this is going to post in the right place. I have read some of the forums, and you seem to be a lovely lot! Australia is far away and has some strange customs and sayings, so please cut me some slack if I seem to say something wrong.

My hubby bought me an APQS machine, and I am scared stiff of it. It is not for me to make a living - thank God- just to use. I think he had serious guilt issues with the amount of $ he has spent over the years on cars and caravans.

Anyway, I don't expect to post too much, and probably only with questions rather than answers, but I'm glad to be here. Jan

Welcome Jan in Oz (I love that user name). Don't be afraid, APQS machines are friendly and will give you hours of joy (and some frustration).

The key to learning to use "her" is practice, breath and practice some more. Everyone on here is ready to help you and answer your questions. Through this forum you have 24 hour help because of our time zones. So get you some muslin or cheap fabric and "play". If your afraid to change the original bobbin tension, you can purchase an extra bobbin case and play with it. You probably know it already but there's several "ladies from Oz" on here. Welcome again and keep in touch:cool::cool::cool:

You will find your machine is so user-friendly. And forgiving. LOL Connie said the magic word. Practice, Practice, Practice. Tracing over your panto design with your finger until you have the thread path in your head helps too. If you want to do freehand, start drawing your design on paper over and over. This helps your muscle memory and before you know it, you will be moving your machine in beautiful patterns.