Cleaning M&M Wheels

I was just looking around the info on the APQS site and read something I did not know.

It does say to clean the rails with alcohol, which I always do. It also says to clean the older type of wheels with alcohol, which I always did.

I got M&M wheels in April and have been cleaning them with alcohol when I clean my rails. Same routine I have been doing for 4 1/2 years since I bought my Liberty.

BUT...the information says DO NOT clean your M&M wheels with alcohol!!!!!

Do you all know that? What damage have I done to my M&M wheels?

Sandra,

Don't worry, you're fine. We don't recommend using alcohol on the M & M wheels over long periods since it can act a bit like a drying agent. I'm sure you haven't had the wheels long enough (no one has) to do any damage with the alcohol. Just stick with a soft rag for wiping out the wheels.

If you ever have any questions, just give us a call. :)

Thank you, Dawn. I will definitely stop using the alcohol on my wheels.

I was going to call or e-mail you on Monday, but thought this would be a good topic for others with M&M wheels to read about. I figure there is probably someone else out there who isn't aware of this.

Thanks again for jumping in here on a Sunday night to answer my question.

Originally posted by DoryJM

I waxed my rails for the first time the other day. My Edgeriders (still haven't put my M&Ms on) were sticky in places. Now I feel like I'm quilting with a Bliss. What a difference a little wax made!:P

Dory, how did you wax your rails? What did you use?

Sandra thanks for asking that question as I just saw that and wondered that too as I had also used alcohol to clean my wheels although I haven't had to clean them very often as they seem to keep rolling smoothly...good to know!

Oma, I have waxed my wheels in the past when I had ER wheels and just used the same turtle wax for my car.