NC area looking for good machine

Hi,

I am new to all of this and you all sound very informed. I am looking for a good starter machine and am on a limited income. I make some quilts for the grand kid but most are king quilts. It has gotten so expensive to have them quilted I just make tops now, in hopes to find a machine one day. All help welcome..

I just found a 12 frame and am going to look at it tomorrow but then if it is ok what kind of machine should I get? So many questions from one who knows nothing.

Thanks

Granny from NC

I think you shouldn't buy a frame until you decide which machine you want. Better to find an already assembled system that works than buy pieces that need altering.

Check out Longarm University for used machines.

Have you looked at Lenni's with a 12" frame? Those can handle a backer up to 120" wide.

And used machines are available all the time here and on other brands' sites.

Which systems have you tried? Would you opt for a mid-arm?

Good luck with your search and if possible, list a "looking to buy" ad on any sites that will allow it.

I tried out several at quilt shows and one friend has the Gammill and the other has the kenquilt I have found lots of mid arm in the area but all on 10ft tables... I promised the lady I would come and look so I will go and take photo's, I believe when she got it she was told she could used her mega quilter with it with a small adjustment???? I thought I would jump in here and get some good advice. OH btw I found .... Proto Longarm Quilting Machine, 24x12 throat, 14' table and stitch regulated he says and in fantastic condition. My friend with the Gammill says it is one of the first models they came out with? He wants $6,500 obo. The guy that ownes this machine is in the same area and I may go test it out. LOL what you think???