Clamps hitting machine

I am just getting started with my new Millennium, and have my quilt loaded, panto on the table, etc. As I do a practice run without stitching, I am finding the machine 'catching' on the clamps, and bouncing the needle out of position on the panto... creating a not so smooth curve.

Does anyone have any pointers?

How can I avoid this?

Jo, you can run a yard stick underneath the clamp elastics to keep the head from hitting the clamps. Personally, I prefer to use curtain rods - the ones for cafe curtains, with a curve on each end - they stay in place on the rollers better than yardsticks.

Welcome to the APQS family! You're in for a wonderful ride!! :D

Jo, check out this video from Kimmy Brunner on quilt tensioning: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xU0UzeOWwU. At the end she explains this.

Barb recommended the curtain rods and those are great too; my husband is a woodworker and made me a set of wood ones that are curved like the curtain rods. I love them; they are quiet and beautiful and functional!

I used to use the curtain rods and even have some aluminum ones from Harley manufacturing. I still didn't like the way they could distort the edge if you weren't very careful. So here's what I did several years ago.

Take the elastic out of the clamps that are attached to the frame. Now, feed the elastic back into the little clamp going from the outside to the inside. The clamp will be hanging on the outside of the frame like a weight. Simply use a straight pin to attach the elastic to the backing & batting. Your machine will glide right over it!

post-12-0-30294500-1356202830_thumb.jpg

this is what i did - i used duct tape and they have remained the right size with all the use i give them.

it also works to keep the clamps up so you don't have to reach beneath to find the when you let them got to advance the quilt.