Which is preferred--Hartley Base Expander or other options like Ruler Mate

agh

As I am a newbie, I was wondering which base expander is preferred by most quilters.  The Hartley fence or the Ruler Mate or is there something else out there I don't know about.  What are the pros and cons of each base expander.  Thanks a lot for the information.

Alena

HI alena,

i have both the ruler mate and hartley base expander for my millennium. my preferred base is the ruler mate. i like that it can live on my machine.

i must admit though, the last time i did a thorough cleaning and removed it, i left it off. on the last few quilts i quilted, i didn't use rulers and didn't miss the extended base.

the hartley is nice in that it can easily be slipped on my machine when i want to use rulers. so...if in the middle of a quilting job, i decide i need to use a ruler, i can just slip the hartley on and keep on quilting without having to move the machine to the side, unscrew the needle plate cover, and replace it with the ruler mate. i do however, notice more drag with the hartley base. it tends to drag a bit under the quilt sandwich. i probably should raise my bars just a hair to avoid this. 

did i help you? perhaps not, but i can tell you that the ruler mate is preferred in my book. it sits more flush on my machine and feels more stable! 

Thank you all for your information.  I can see how maybe both might be beneficial.  I now understand a little bit more about both products.  Just did not know a whole lot about either item. I can see how the Hartley base would be helpful if all of a sudden you decided to do some ruler work on a quilt that maybe you had not planned on. 

Thanks again for all the information that this forum provides for all of us newbies.

alena