Liberty Log Cabin Ideas Help

Hello, I am an APQS wannabe owner. :)  I look at the forum  a lot and love reading about everyone.  I have been quilting for a couple years and just started officially quilting for hire January 1 this year.   But I have this quilt that a local shop wants me to do to use for a sample at shows and in their shop.  I want to finish it perfectly because they are going to use my name and help me get more clients.  They want something traditional and not an all over pattern.  I want to keep it simple because I don't want to take away from the quilt. 

I want to stitch in the ditch the friendship stars and then I am stuck.  My think my problem is that the backing is the same light cream/tan that is in the top with very little pattern.  I am not worried about the borders because they will be decided by what I do in the rest of the quilt.   

I sure would appreciate some help from the experience talent here.  I can pretty much quilt anything, just need direction.  This quilt is very important because they called me and asked me to do this for them.  It is a great opportunity for getting my work out there.  And that will get me closer to getting an APQS machine. :)

Oh almost forgot, I will be using QD cotton batting.

post-9998-0-21023500-1363644175_thumb.jpg

Yup, the blue has me.  I had thought about feathers in the blue, I do the bump bump feathers, and blue thread would show the back tracking on the back too much, IMHO. And then SID the cream logs maybe.  Should I just use light thread to match the back?  I will be using Glide poly.  I have about 30 colors on hand to choose from.  I also have some GLide Essence, but haven't had a chance to try it on my machine yet. 

Excuse my ignorance, but what does "twist CC in star" mean?