New Millie Arriving Today - I can't wait!

Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to the forum and longarm quilting.  My new Millie is scheduled to arrive this afternoon.  This is my first longarm.  I'm so excited.  My whole family is geared up & ready.  Hubby is clearing the garage as a staging area for the boxes.  My 18 year old son is sleeping - preparing for the heavy lifting.

I've been quilting for 30+ years and have quilted over 100 quilts on my domestic machine - up to king size.  I'm really looking forward to having a longarm.  I'm hoping the learning curve isn't too steep.  I have about 2 dozen quilt tops waiting to be quilted and many more that are in various stages of completion.

I bought some inexpensive muslin to use for practice.  Any suggestions on the best way to get started? Any ideas to shorten the learning curve?

Thanks, Karen

Nothing can take the place of practice...  Relax and enjoy!!  Are you signed up to take the beginner class from your local dealer or plan to travel to Des Moines soon?  Your local dealer should be a great help to you and will have many helpful hints.  This forum is the best!!  Lot's of helpful hints and suggestions from wonderful people.  Don't hesitate to ask any question...there are no dumb questions...we have all been a beginner!

Have a super day!!

How exciting - congratulations! And welcome to the APQS family.  PPP on muslin, take a class if you can, and don't be afraid to take one or two of your tops to try out your practicing earlier than you think you are ready.  You will be surprised how quickly you catch on to longarming especially as you are well experienced quilting on your DM.  Once you have that actual top on the machine ideas will come to you and you'll do wonderful.  I still learn so much from others' pictures, so please share them here!  Again, congratulations, and have a blast with your new machine!

Hi Karen,  Welcome to the informative, crazy, insane, funny, prayerful world of APQS quilting,