music, do you or don't you

I'm curious to know where quilters stand on this.  I've had some quilters tell me that they won't listen to music or have the tv on while they're quilting, because they need to be able to hear differences in the machine and know right away if something is wrong.  Some say it's too distracting and they are afraid they'll lose their flow and make mistakes.  I'm just a beginner, so I would like to hear different points of view.

i go both ways. i can listen to music that is playing in the room (not through headphones) or not. the music does not distract me to the point of not being able to hear my machine and the bobbin case rattle as it runs empty. 

i generally have a song or two running through my head anyways, so I might as well have the music playing!  :P

I would depend on if you do other things while listening to music or watching tv.  When I had little ones at home I had the tv or radio on for background noise all the time.  Then through the years I began to like the quietness of being alone to think about what I was doing without interruptions.  Sometimes  I put the tv on and watch a taped show or HGTV or I set it on a "oldies" music channel and sometimes I sit in the quietness.  Do what appeals to you.  By the way...I hear my machine just fine with or without other noises.  I've never been able to use headphones...too claustrophobic I guess. 

My hearing isn't as acute as it used to be but I don't have a problem hearing my bobbin running low when I listen to music and quilt. I, however, am not coordinated enough to sing and quilt at the same time ... which is probably a good thing for anyone in earshot.  :lol: