Yikes!

Meg, I agree 100% with Ebony. However, this problem goes way beyond just the quilting and sewing world. I used to be a typing/secretarial subjects teacher in the 1970s and I have owned and operated a secretarial/word processing business since the mid 1980s. I have seen a dramatic decline in the quality of what is acceptable in the business world. I am, more or less, a perfectionist and I want everything that I produce to reflect me and my standards. I want my letters, reports, etc. to look good and make my clients look good. I want the letters to be set up properly, have correct punctuation and correct spelling and grammar. I know you have seen lots of junk mail come into your home that has spelling errors, incorrect punctuation and in general just look tacky. Work like this would never leave my office!

I want the same standards for the quilts I produce and give away. If I don't like the quality of what I have produced, I will not give it away and I definitely won't put my name on the label. I only quilt for myself, although I have started teaching classes at the LQS. I demand the best work I can produce from myself and my students. If something is not right, it is easier to use the seam ripper and try again. My students appreciate this.

In short, what I am trying to say is that this country (and the world) has set mediocrity as the new standard. I set a higher bar for myself and will continue to do so. I get frustrated when I buy a new book or pattern and then find lots and lots of errors in the directions and typos in the text (I once subscribed to a magazine and in one issue I found 6 typos in one article - I no longer subscribe to this magazine or any magazine where that editor is listed.)

Okay, I'll get off my soapbox now!