Top Thread Breaking on my George Quilter

Brand New Owner of Geroge Quilter!  My top thread keeps breaking.  I'm only practicing on practice pieces right now b/c I'm new at free-motion quilting too SO i'm really a Newbie all the way around on any Quilting Machine.  The first time I tried it broke right away after only a round or two. I retreaded the machine, loosened the tension b/c the thread was tight coming thru the tension guide and reinstalled the bobbins to make sure all that was correct.  This gave me more stitching time and the thread didn't break for about 5 minutes of stitching BUT it broke! NOW WHAT??  My book says to check for burrs on bobbin case, but this is a NEW machine, no time on it and it's practically just how they shipped it to me. If ANYONE can help me troubleshoot this problem I would APPRECIATE IT....tnx

Congratulations and welcome, Judy!  Your thread issue may possibly be as simple as how quickly you are moving your quilt sandwich underneath the foot and needle.  If you happen move it too fast you can put undue pressure on the thread and cause it to break.  I would try to rule this out first by concentrating on moving your quilt sandwich at a slow to moderate even pace.  If you already think you are going slow you may possibly be going slow enough that the stitches built up causing the thread to break. See if an even movement helps alleviate the problem. (Before I added stitch regulation to my old Ulti I had lots of issues with thread breakage that were related to me and not the machine. :)

Let us know if this helps or if you have continued issues.  Wishing you a quick resolution!

You'll soon get a "feel" for the best tension for your machine. With the top thread through the needle and the bobbin thread pulled up, both threads should take the same amount of force to pull them to the side.