I have been reading and following the forum for several weeks, well since about a week before I ordered my machine. Don't get me wrong, I have been researching over 3 years. I have gotten several pantos and Linda's book, a kids doodle pad and been doodling like crazy. I have several questions. I know I am going to order several spools of So Fine Thread and Bottom Line for bobbin, but in what weight? Also how do I know size needle to use and batting? I am NOT starting a business, this is just for me and my projects. I just want people to drool over my quilts as I have drooled over yours. Selfish of me, I know that, but I have been sewing and quilting for over 30 years and have given so may "just because" gifts, I just want to WOW people. Any suggestions is greatly appreciated. My machine should be here the week after 10th of July, going to Vegas.  Any other tools or gargets I should consider ordering? My husband and I are celebrating 32 years this Friday, and I am and have been so spoiled for the last 32 years that I really hope we have at least 32 more years. He told me to order the machine I wanted and would be comfortable with. A new friend let me try her machine and I fell in "Love". Any and all suggestions will be written down and kept in my sewing studio.  I will appreciated and treasure each and every one.

Thank You,

Diane West

Diane, Welcome to the family.

You can order So fine and Bottom Line prewound bobbins from Superior threads. You can also get the prewound Coats bobbins with the little cardboard sides. They are convenient and hold more thread than an aluminum bobbin.   Needles. You'll want Singer MR 4.0, and Singer MR 3.5. You can order those from APQS. You can use whatever batting you prefer.  I have one customer who only likes Poly fill high loft.  I would not chose it, but it's what she sends with her quilts. I prefer Quilters Dream or Warm and White.  I am getting ready to do one for a customer using a double layer of wool. That will be yummy.