New Quilter...With a twist?

Hi All,

I have been lurking for months here and learning a lot from all of you (Thanks!). The twist...well I seem to be one of the only men here (other than Mark!).

I am somewhat new to quilting. My wife (DW?) is an Artist (Retired a few days ago after teaching art for >20 years and was just named the state's Art Educator of the year...yup I am bragging just a bit :) I am incredibly proud of her! ) and we will be working together on quilts with her design input and me making the quilts (or at least trying) and offering them for sale through her usual outlets. I have had several telephone discussions with Mark and attended the Portland Road Show and ordered a new Millie with hydraulic lift and a 14' table as I had the room and saw no down side to having the bigger table! It should be ready soon (I am waiting for notice to make my final payment any day now). I can't say enough about how helpful everyone in the APQS family has been, it was a definite factor in my purchase decision. 

I learned about the MQX show in Portland from this Forum and have signed up for several classes over the days can be there and am really looking forward to that experience. Many of my questions have been answered from reading all the posts here but I have a few for all of you (and likely more as time goes on!).

1. When I first get the Machine and I am doing initial practice I have seen that you all recommend using inexpensive fabric for practice...do you use batting and a backing fabric layer too, or just a top piece to get used to using the machine?

2. If batting is appropriate for practice what would you recommend I use?

3. Since my Wife is a professional artist and has a business license I believe I can buy supplies at the wholesale/professional rate...where and how do I go about setting this up?

Thank you all so much for your willingness to share your knowledge, it has been very helpful for me!

Dave