Ready to quilt my Prairie Star - Finally!

One year after taking Judy Niemeyer's class, I'm finally ready to put my Prairie Star on my Freedom - I'm a bit nervous as I've never done a JN before.  I've decided on my design elements, and thread colours, but I have a few questions about how to tackle this - should I just start at the top and work my way through the quilt?  Do I need to SID or secure it in any way?  This may sound dumb, but I'm just not sure what to do!  Thanks in advance for any advice - I'll post pictures once I'm done - :unsure:   Bev

I start at the top and work down.

Some quilters do all the SID to stabilize the entire quilt and then quilt it. I usually do whatever SID needed as I quilt each section, incorporating the SID as the last element in the section ( or first element, depending on any fullness in the piecing). That way I don't have to change thread colors as often. I pin excessively any areas I will leave unquilted as I work down the top.

After quilting a multitude of JN quilts over the last two years, I'd start quilting in the "second border"--usually either flying geese or spikes--leaving the outside border to be quilted last. I'd quilt that second border and then choose the next area to quilt by whatever is the largest area. Once that is nailed down,you can leave various matching sections unquilted and advance to the next field. This will stabilize the previous area, but make sure to pin everything in place. 

This sounds backwards, but I leave the center to be quilted close to the last. As I advance I pin the center really well. You want that section to be the best--it's usually where there is some light fabric so the quilting will show, and it's where the eye naturally goes first.