How do you change for piecing? I have seen .05 per sq in, $100 square yard, $10-25 hour. I am trying to decide if I want to offer the services and set some prices.  I may have my first commissioned quilt customer. He wants a Kings size pinwheels or something of the sort. I  want to quote estimate so I don't short cut myself. Any information is greatly appreciated.

Blissful Quilting until next time…

Judith Washburn

BlissQuilter.com

APQS Dealer

Sealy, Texas

832-724-6335

Complete Longarm Quilting Studio

Millennium Blissed with IntelliQuilter

Lucey Blissed with Quilt Path

While I have never pieced for money or quilted very many quilts for money (I am strictly a hobby quilter at this time.), I used to be a professional seamstress.  I did alterations, dressmaking and mending in my own shop, as well as working from home.  Everything I did was based on how long it took.  I did have basic rates for things like hemming a pair of pants or replcing a zipper.  For dressmaking I always charged by the hour.  It has been a while since I did that work and I don't remember how much I charged. (I moved on to a second career in teaching.)  Because of my vast experience sewing, I am very fast and can charge a significant amount per hour, where a slower person would need to charge less.  You would need to figure out how much you could reasonably charge for your time.  Don't sell yourself short!  I have know idea how once could be fair to oneself charging by area.  Some designs simply take way more time than others!  When I was doing dressmaking I went as far as having a stop watch to time myself to be fair to both myself and the customer.  If somebody came into my shop while I was working on a dress, I would stop the watch until I was able to get back to work.  Granted, it took a while to teach myself to use the watch!  EVen though I am now just sewing/quilting for myself, I still track time on a project for most projects, partly out of curiosity and partly because once I retir