Expectations for a newbie

Hi Everyone.

I just ordered a Lucey!  As you can imagine I'm super excited.  But now, as I wait, buyer's remorse sets in...well not remorse, but worry.

My background is I'm a very confident quilter, published author, pattern designer etc.  I've been quilting for more than 20 years and I've quilted most of my quilts on my DSM.  I know and love my DSM very well.  I have a Viking and I almost never have any trouble.  Might have to tweak the tension once in a while but other than that it's a work horse.  I've had it 9 years and had it serviced only once.  And I'm embarrassed to say I'm terrible about cleaning it.  I almost never do and I usually only change the needle when it breaks.  

So, as you can imagine I'm nervous about maintaining a longarm.  I've been reading around this forum and all the tension troubles etc are scaring me.  I'm really not worried that I won't be able to do it.  I'm mechanically inclined and good at troubleshooting etc so I'm fairly confident that I'll get it to work.  I'm just nervous that I won't like it.  Fiddling with a machine and having to clean it a lot is so not my thing!

So really do I have to clean out the bobbin case every time I change it?  And oil and clean the machine after every quilt?

And am I really going to have to spend forever balancing the tension?