Piecing thread

Hi Quilty friends...

I've been piecing with SoFine thread fir some time and lately have not been thrilled with it.

So, I was wanting to try something new and I got a cone of aurifil at Vermont Quilt Fest.

It's delicious...but so expensive.

Anyone tried the Cairo Quilt from Bobbin Central?

I'm thinking of giving that a go and wanted to avoid a mistake if possible.

I use either a Bernina 440 or 153 for my piecing.

Any input is most appreciated

EDIT...I ordered the Aurifil on the large cones and its been running like a hot knife through butter ever since. I'm a convert! Worth the extra $.

I have been using Aurifil for more than ten years for piecing.  It is great thread and I won't use anything else.  It has increased in price over the years but it is still less expensive that a lot of the threads out there.

Here are a couple of sources that I have used in the past.

http://www.sewezdesigns.com/Aurifil1.html

http://www.tristan.bc.ca/cart/home.php?cat=27&sort=orderby&sort_direction=0&page=1

The second one is in Canadian dollars.

I noticed yesterday that fabric.com sells Aurifil and they had it on sale for $6 and something but that was just for yesterday unfortunately.

Hi Meg,

I'm curious as to why you don't like the so-fine.   I'm always looking for a piecing thread.

Hi Chris...

The SoFine was breaking, especially when I was chain piecing. I chain piece a lot. It was frustrating.

When I switched it out to try the aurifil I got at VQF, I could not believe how much better aurifil ran in my machine!

And it presses down to almost nothing for gorgeous seams.

It's probably worth the extra $....but I was wondering if anyone loved the Cairo Quilt before I bit the bullet and stocked up on aurifil.

Thanks, Marci, youre a sweetheart! I will be happy to order it if someone with a Bernina says they use it with success. If not, I'll stick with the aurifil. After all, I'm worth it! :)