How do you handle this?

Still a newbie here.  I have leader grips on my Millie  What do you do when trying to stitch close to the edge when your machine keeps bumping into the leader grips? at the beginning and the end?  Along with bumping into the grips on the sides?   That causes a real problem when you are doing a panto and you keep bumping into it.  It really messes up the stitching.  The gal I bought my machine from said she uses curtain rods to hold up the ends (sheer on type rod).  Just checking to see what else someone might do to prevent this. 

I have red snappers n my leaders. I load only the backing into the top and belly leader. Then I center the batting and stitching frm the center out, I use my horizontal lock to stitch the batting to the backing about 1 inch away from the top red snapper. Then I center the top, lining it up with the stitching line on the batting. I pin it every 6 inches perpendicular to the stitch line. Then sew the top 1/8 inch away from the edge from the center out removing the pins as I go.

I bought red snappers for all 3 of my leaders, but I took the one that the top attaches to at the belly bar. I, too, was bumping into it as I finished the bottom edge of the quilt and would take the red snapper off and use pins to finish the last section. I finally decided that I was doing too much work re-pinning so Now I just pin the top to the belly leader. I can now get close to the edge.

I hope this makes sense to you. Sometimes the red snappers are in the wrong spot and just get in the way and it is irritating!

I used yard sticks for a period of time then my husband; a woodworker; made me a set of maple rods shaped like the curtain rods. He bends the end of them; they are beautiful and no metal scraping on my rollers. They work great and never move; I love them!