Drawing my own pantographs

I want to draw a couple of my own pantographs to use on donation quilts.   Has anyone done this before?  If so can you share how you did it?  I was thinking to just draw one section and then copy that drawing and tape them together.  I'd like to have them large enough to use up the space Millie has - would that be about 18 inches wide?

Also, how would I figure out where my registration points would be to set the laser for the second row?  Do I need to make a corner design also and a half design?  I've never used a pantograph before so am guessing as to what I need.

Not sure exactly what questions to ask but would appreciate anyone who can share their experience in doing this.   Thanks in advance.

Your thought to draw a section and copy them is a good idea. The only thing you need to remember is to have your entry/exit points in the same spot--one on the left and the other on the right edge.

I took a class years ago on drawing pantos and the instructor had great ideas. She used tessellated tiles for her pantos. Those are basic geometric shapes that fit together and cover 100% of the space--like tiles on a floor.

The basic one was was a shape where the top and bottom were bell curves with the right and left sides about four inches wide (a fat circle pinched at both ends). If you can draw that shape you'll see that when you tape the pieces in a line you have a natural wave above and below. If you're interested, I can go into more detail.

To answer your questions about corners and half designs? Not needed since pantos are used for overall designs usually, and not borders. If you draw your own design, copy very faintly the nearest edge of the design at the far side so you can use your laser to help line up the next row. A good suggestion since you aren't familiar with pantos is to find some panto tutorials on-line so you can understand panto placement and how to advance for the next row.