How many hours of practice will it take me before I know I'm worthy of charging for a quilt.

I really want to get my buisness off the ground. Just how much time do you think someone needs to have under their belt to be really good. I want to perfect my feather work. I'm not very good at picking out the designs and what sould go where.

How many patterens should I have on hand before I begin????So many questions...Is anyone in the Twin Cities Area?

I'll look forward to some feedback...

Thanks Marcia

Guest Linda S

On what type of quilting you want to offer. If you are content with offering simple meander and maybe some simple pantographs to clients, you can be ready to do that in fairly short order. If you want to be ready to do everything, from simple to custom when you open your doors, it will take a bit longer. It also depends on what type of experience you've had before hand. I did several quilts on my DSM before I got my Liberty and I found that it helped me immensely. However, I thought I would never be able to do feathers. Then, one day, it just came to me. Of course, this was after tons of practice and drawing, drawing, drawing. I now draw them everywhere! I still probably would not feel really comfortable taking someone's fancy quilt and quilting it if they were entering it in a show with nice custom work. I'm getting there, but for now, doing a nice job making my customers' bed quilts and wall hangings is good enough for me.

Linda

Take a look at your work. I did one really large PPP (some good, some bad, most ugly). This gave me an opportunity to learn the machine, threading, tension, etc.