Just learning to quilt, looking for fabric scraps, etc. and HELP

Rachel57

Hello Everyone,    I am a beginner.   I am trying to learn to make quilts.   I have 11 grandchildren and 7 of them are girls.  I would love to learn to make quilts and make them each one to have from Grandmom, long after I am gone.   My problem is, I live on a very small income and after bills, there isn't much left to be able to go to store and buy yardage.   I was so hoping maybe someone would have fabric to share,  scraps, threads, anything wonderful for quilting.  Sure hoping someone might have a little to share.  Someday, I even hope to have a cutting mat, rotary cutter and a nice quilt ruler, but for now, I will trace patterns and cut them out with scissors.   Any pointers or advice is very welcome also.   Thank you for your time,  Happy Quilting Day,     Rachel

Most people have learned to be suspicious of pleas for help on the internet. The system is full of scammers and trolls who are looking for gullible but generous people to cheat or make fun of.

Your post, even though it may be true, doesn't contain enough information to make someone delve deeper to see if you are who you say you are and whether you have a real need. 

With that sorry truth in mind, please post your location (town) and an identifiable email address so you can be contacted and your identity verified.  Perhaps someone from this internet community lives close to you and can steer you to a local guild or quilters group that can help with instruction and other charity.

Please post some contact info. Quilters are generous to a fault and are happy to help others who are in need.

Also check out your local used item shops, ie Good Will,  Second hands.

ABU  (already been used)  cotton garments at the used shop can also

have good areas still on them.

Ask your friends, you will be surprised at who is a quilter.. or one who uses cotton

to make clothes for the children, themselves.. etc.