X and o quilt taking it off the frame

This quilt was a group project with my guild Central Alberta Quilt Guild everybody who made a block got a chance to win the top.... the catch is if you win you organize the next years quilt. I figured this out after I made and turned in one block...guess what.... I won. I organized a churn dash block for my project it is due on the Dec meeting, it is in pieces right now. Now to this quilt it was paper pieced string blocks in black whit and red then was put together with solid black. I was not sure what to do with the wide 6" border but looked at it for awhile then I started drawing on it with chalk and came up with this feather and straight line design..I love how it turned out. I used a 80/20 batting and a fuzzy costco blanket for the backing, supper cozie in our Canadian winters..oh ya guess what we had yesterday SNOW about 8 INCHES ya that is about 2 months early. Oh well it was a good day to sew.  I put the binding on while it was on the machine so all that is left is to hand sew to the back. This will be a wedding gift for my niece's wedding next summer.

Thanks for taking a look 

post-63431-0-13315500-1410280784_thumb.jpg

post-63431-0-34383300-1410280838_thumb.jpg

post-63431-0-36896900-1410280870_thumb.jpg

Wow! I love the quilting on it.  Fabulous texture!  How did you find that costco blanket  for quilting?   Can you elaborate on that?

I hear ya on the snow.   Forecast for more tonight.   yuk.  I usually embrace the crazy weather here, but this year...I'm done with positivity.  LOL

Thank-you for all the kind words

Costco blanket: 

I make sure I run the stretch perpendicular to the roller 

I loosen off the front roller before I advance the quilt,

then tighten the front roller to make snug but do not stretch

I also like to add a very thin 80/20 batting to give it body

This quilt is on the heavy side but very cuddly also.

That being said I have a friend who tried to use a blanket