Question for the Experts: Auto advance and the front brake

So as I play with my new Millie (bliss and auto fabric advance) I notice that the fabric attached to the backing roller (I'm floating the batting and top on this quilt) does not stay taught.  I have checked the brake, and I feel it's working the way I expect, but as I quilt, the fabric gets more and more slack and I have to tighten and re-brake the backing roller.  I'm leaning on the bar a little when I micro-stipple.  But otherwise using normally.

I've finished three quilts and a couple smaller projects, and didn't notice this until now, or it wasn't a problem earlier.  Still learning and had so much to catch up on, I'm kind of blazing through things.  

I'm new at this equipment.  Is this right?  My mid arm had individual locks on each roller bar and stayed good and taught once set.  Does my brake need to be tightened?  If so, how?  Should I call tech?

Curious if I just need to get used to the extra play in the fabric with this new and otherwise awesome equipment!!!

Thank you in advance for any feedback or ideas.

Best,

Beth

Hi Beth. You can adjust the bolt under the brake so when you depress the brake lever it will be tighter. With the brake lever loosened (upright) turn the bolt slightly tighter. Don't tighten all the way. Press the lever down and see if it's tight enough for you. Adjust until it's the way you want. With large tops, especially those with thick batting like wool, it's more likely that the roller will slip a bit even with the brake set. That's when you'll need to tighten it a bit more. Another thing to watch for is not to advance the quilt with the brake on. That will cause the liner inside the brake to bunch and eventually need to be replaced.