I Really Don't See What You Get Out Of Quilting

I have a friend who is probably the finest woodworker I've ever personally known.  He's an engineer by trade.  He's a perfectionist.  He has a woodworking shop woodworkers would dream about.  He has all commercial grade equipment.  He has a CNC router for inlay work.  He built musical instruments (mountain dulcimers) if you know what that is.  His waiting list to get one of his instruments was over 2 years.

In a past life a few years ago I was a woodworker.  My 2 car garage was filled with woodworking equipment.  I had the best  woodworking tools available (not commercial grade).  I also made musical instruments (mountain dulcimers).  I was good but nothing compared to him.  I had a pretty good part time business selling custom instruments.

His wife is a quilter.  Another perfectionist.  Has a beautiful quilting studio.  When I saw that I probably wouldn't get to do a lot of woodworking when I retired I took up quilting.  When we got together I talked woodworking with him and quilting with her.

One day he told me, "I just don't see what you get out of quilting."