The cost of quilts

This article is for the new quilters wondering how to decide their pricing and for longarmers like our friend Teresa (chickenscratch) who's had more than her share of potential customers fishing for a bargain and telling her that her prices are too high.

Warning---it's very long so get a cup of tea or a glass of wine and dive in.

http://www.mooreapproved.com/2015/02/quiltonomics-the-real-cost-of-quilts/

Thanks for posting this.  I am just starting out, still only doing charity quilts and a few for my family.  Not charging, but working on developing a customer base.  There is a lady in the area that will quilt "any quilt for $50"  What in the world do you do about that?  It's E2E, with cheap batting she sells as well. :wacko:

Don't quilt for others, but know in this area there are several quilters who quilt for the same price as above - any quilt for $50.     Was not impressed with the two quilts I saw that this person quilted and it has definitely made it difficult for the quilters who want to get paid for their efforts.   A quilt shop owner said, just this week, that a longarm quilter can't make any money in this area.  Live in NW Ohio.

Marilyn

Sort of that way around here too.   Most people just turn pale when you give them a price.........That's why I just don't do it any more.........only for a few special people who know what goes into making and quilting a quilt.   Just had a friend (non quilter) write to me that a friend of hers was quoted $500 to quilt a King Size quilt and she about fell off her chair !    She wanted to know if that was normal.   I went on to try to explain about how charges were made.........amount of detailed quilting, thread changes, time involved, etc.  My friend is a knitter and makes beautiful sweaters..........You can bet your bottom dollar if she sat down and added up the hours it takes her to make a sweater, she would be surprised.    :D  :D  :D  :D