favorite batting?

My first practice piece is on the machine right now. I bought a bagged queen size(batting) and put it between muslin. I did the suggested and let it out of the bag earlier. My question is what is the best batting? Is it better to get it on the roll? What is the easiest to work with? I am a beginner and want the best for a beginner. quarter inch loft? half inch? I want this to eventually be a business so I also want something affordable as well. Anyone out there got any ideas for me? Itching to get going on this. Janey

Janey,

By no means an expert, I would suggest you try it all and see what you like. As a professional, unless you specify you only use... then you will get it all. I personally haven't found a big difference in the results based on batting but I probably don't know what I am looking for. I have a roll of Hobbs 80/20 and a roll of Hobbs wool and I like it because it is there when needed (for customers and for myself). In the past, I bought a roll of Warm and Natural from a Joann's that was going out of business. The only suggestion I have is to see what is "appropriate" in the quilting circles near you. Some areas are ok with polyester but where I am, they raise their noses to it, read that as probably not good to get a roll of polyester.

BTW, rolls of batting are very reasonable especially if you make a lot of large quilts. Much cheaper than individually wrapped. Always remember that Hobby Lobby and Joanns do 40% off on a regular basis.

Good Luck

Donna

I second what Donna said. Different regions seem to request different batts. My clients in CA and in the Baltimore area all want Quilters Dream. Otherwise, Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 is a favorite. I personally don't like Warm & Natural because I find it too flat. The Quilters Dream is so very flat also but it quilts so nicely and works so well, I just can't not love it. Hobbs Heirloom 80/20 has just enough poof so that quilting shows up nicely.