Thread breakage. Newbie frustration.

I'm stitching out my first pantograph E2E with QuiltPath.   I am loving it and excited except that the thread keeps breaking.  Like every 8 inches or so.  I'm new to this, remember.  What are the first things I should do to try to keep the thread from breaking?  I don't want to switch thread if I don't have to.  

I am quilting on a small lap quilt that I made just to practice on, but I really like it, and I found the absolutely perfect  variegated thread for the quilt. It's a Superior Threads King Tut 100% cotton 40wt thread.  I know some folks don't like this thread at all for the APQS machine.  But is there a way I MIGHT get it to stop breaking?  What would you do first?  I'm assuming that changing the thread path might do something....but what?  

Enlighten me, please.  I'll go skip a couple holes and stitch till it breaks a couple more times, and then keep checking back for your brilliant answers.  

like I said...I'm a newbie, and everything I try is teaching me more and more.  I appreciate learning from mistakes, but I need to LEARN.  (smirk).

Thanks!

It would help to know what kind of machine you have, as well as what thread is in the bobbin, the type of fabric and batting, etc.. 

When you pull on your top thread, does the wire by your tension disc (sorry, can't think of the name right now) move from about 11 to about 9?  If not, your top tension could be too tight.

Give us some more information, and I'm sure more experienced members will be chiming in soon.