george vs longarm

Hello everyone,

I went to Chicago this weekend and can't decide between a med. priced longarm and the George. At this point I plan to do my own quilts and maybe friends' quilts. I do have problems with bursitis in my shoulders. Which type of machine to you feel is easier on us golden oldies. I have been freemotion quilting with a Bernina 145 for the past 6 years.

Any pros or cons would be helpful

Thanks, Barb

Hi Barb,

I don't think this is going to be too helpful, but here's my 2 cents. The only thing I didn't care for about quilting on my DSM was having to pin baste on the floor with "assistance" from the dog. Now that I have my millie, I love the many more options I have for pattern design. I've done the golden threads paper, but find tearing it away to be tedious. With the laser, I can follow a design, but not have to mark the quilt top. I think with medical issues in your shoulders, a longarm would make a better choice. (I'm a music therapist, but I work at a hosp., so that must make me an expert on medical stuff, right?) I most assuredly recommend atn APQS machine, new or used. When I was Innovations in Sept. somone in my group pointed out that of all the machines being used in classrooms, the only ones that had not broken down during classes were the APQS machines.

Keep us posted as to what you decide.

Beth

Hi Barb,

After reading your message, and your reference to Bursitis and the Golden years and knowing that both methods of quilting can be physically straining I would seriously consider not buying any type of quilting system. The George or any of the stand up quilting systems.