Newbie needs help with tension...Please

maya216km

Let me begin by saying I am new to longarm quilting. I have had my Millie for 11 months and have been actually quilting on it for 6. I have not had a single problem until now. I follow all cleaning instructions, between quilts, as recommended by APQS, and have been using the same brand and weight of thread from superior (OMNI), and the same batting as all other quilts 80/20 Fairfield (frankly, I am afraid to change until I get better at understanding the machine and tension).

Now for my problem, the other day I noticed my tension was "randomly" off. I was using quilt path, as on several of my previous projects, and in small random spots my tension would be off. The front of the quilt looked fine, but the back looked like railroad tracks. It was not just before or after a stop or start. The machine would be quilting along fine and for a very short time the tension would get off and just as quickly it would be back to normal. I did check to see if it was in a certain spot on the pattern, but it was in random spots. I could not find anything consistent about the times it chose to be off.

I have no idea what to do and would appreciate any suggestions anyone might have. I always thought that if I had tension problems it would be throughout the entire quilt.

Start with the basics.  On the bobbin case gently lift the tension spring a little an look to see if there is any lint caught under there.  Also check the threading of your machine from the cone forward, make sure you didn't miss any guides or the check spring on the tension assembly.  Do a close inspection of the two pigtail guides above the needle, over time they will get a groove worn into them and the thread will snag or start shredding there.  The way I check them is to hold the thread above and below the guide and drag it in a circle around the inside of the guide and you will feel it catch if there is a groove. 

Nigel