Rulers and stitch path

I am trying to quilt using rulers but it is not going very well. When using rulers do you stitch in the ditch around the area first? I seem to be going over the same stitch path several times and my blocks look sloppy. Also when I have commented on other quilters on this forum some have said they take classes to help them and suggest I do the same. Where do you take these classes or can I take them online?

On-line classes at Craftsy, AQS - Iquilt.  You can also purchases DVD's from various teachers/quilters websites.  When you find that you are backtracking over a particular area a little too often, take a minute to plan a new quilting path, or add a couple of starts and stops.  I'm curious as to why you are trying to quit using rulers?

I like the looks of some of the ruler work on quilts and I am trying to do a quilt but not liking my results. I am very new at quilting on a long arm so I know I have tons to learn. I have seen other post that say practice a lot and take classes when you can. The problem with classes is where I live there just aren't any. I will check out the crafts classes though. Thank you for your comments.

There are a lot of Youtube videos that teach you simple techniques. I would suggest you go to Youtube and type in longarm rulers. Here is one I just found made by apqs, 

There are so many good resources out there, don't spend your money until you find someone you really want to learn from. Youtube is the greatest thing since sliced bread.