Hello everyone!  I'm hoping you can help me with the best way to plan my next quilt.

I am new to quilting and have created but one single quilt so far.  I'm ready to start my second but I need your help!  If you are willing to share, I'm wondering what tips/tricks you have found to be helpful in planning out your quilts.  I'd like to know the best way to plan it out. What have you found to be helpful?  Are there any special tools you use? Can you just envision it? (that will take a while or me), do you lay out the fabric on your kitchen table?  What do I need to know before stepping in again.  I had a lot of expert help on my last one and this one I am attempting on my very own.  Yay me! Thanks for any tips you can offer. :)

I get inspiration from quilts in magazines or online. If a quilt has an interesting (in the public domain) block - I'll start a quilt design in EQ7, diddle with the block, add borders, etc. Usually when I play with the block, I wind up either creating an all new block I have not seen before, or using a completely different block as I play. I'm not all that creative from scratch, so I rely on that inspiration to get me going. Walk yourself through all of the video tutorials that come with EQ7 - do every exercise. That will get you going on the software. The help info is great, also.  Of course, there is also the "free spirit design" technique. A friend of mine uses it almost exclusively. She just collects (buys) various fabrics that all go together and then cuts some shapes (rectangles are easy to deal with) and plays until she gets a  simple block she likes, and builds the quilt top until she's satisfied. Go for it, girl.

I have EQ7 but never taken the time to really learn how to use it.  My number one tool would be 1/4 inch graph paper for drawing out the basic layout.  The second would be computer to search for specific quilt block layouts (inspiration).