Spring in Arizona

Moving to Arizona last year my thoughts of desert plants were that there were only a few flowers. Surprise! Took my camera for a walk and left Arnie, my German Shepherd home.

This huge flower sits atop cactus and blooms for the day in clusters of one to several. Each flower is 5"-7" across. Don't know the name for it, perhaps pachycereus something. Enjoy!

Vicki

post--13461898041103_thumb.jpg

I increased the contrast and the shadow areas became like a black background and reminded me of fabric. There are rounded sage green shrubs with these bright flowers all throughout my neighborhood. Camera images have a way of turning nature into artistic impressions. In university I studied design and my teacher preached the value of going to nature for inspiration.

Vicki

Saguaro Cactus are really tall here in Arizona. Developers of the Del Webb community where I live harvested the Saguaros and stored them in a "forest" until they could be transplanted. There still is a collection of them next to I-17 Anthem Way Exit 229 if you are ever over this way, north of Phoenix. This one is preparing for a spectacular show of blooms. They end up looking like they have flowered hats on top.

Vicki

Here's one of thousands of different cactus. The bright white thorns are a warning to keep away. Did you know that the migration of bats are dependent upon stopping in Arizona to drink from the cactus on their way? A whole cloth quilt using these thorns for inspiration would surely look contemporary and doing trapunto along the ridges would give an interesting shadow effect. Anybody game to try this?

Vicki

Daisy Mountain makes a nice backdrop in our neighborhood. The Palo Verde tree has green trunk and limbs. Who said that trees in our quilts had to be brown, grey, black, or white? Here is a full view of the orange flowering sage colored shrub like shown in the high contrast photo above, or another one anyway.