Freedom VS Lucey

Hi all!!  I haven't been on here for quite a while!!  I am going to be getting a new head!  I have now a 2008 Millie.  I am looking at a Freedom and a Lucey.   Any input on the pros and cons of what these will and will not do?  Looks like the difference is the Lucey does not have Glide and no "low bobbin alert"... Both of those really peak my interest...but wondering if they are worth the extra $... I would love some opinions from my fellow quilting buddies!!  Thanks for your input!!

Linda

I have a Lucey and really love it. Now that I have some LA experience, quilt glide would be a nice option. At the time I purchased my Lucey, a Freedom wasn't in the budget. I have the M bobbin so the low bobbin sensor wouldn't be that important to me. Could you try quilt glide at a Road or quilt show? It might help make your decision a little easier.

Leslie

Hi Leslie!  Thanks for responding!  I DID go to a roadshow and tried the glide....I did really like it!    Just trying to decide if it's worth the $!!!  I LOVE doing custom work, so I think the glide would be a good thing to have.....but  $....    :wacko:

Linda:

I would suggest you compare the options of the New Lucey/Freedom against your 2008 Millie.  Then answer a few questions as a business owner.  I quilt for fun, but am in the process of paying off all my debt so I am looking at your questions from a different angle.  A business will always suck every penny it can from you.  You have to decide that "I will only allow it to take X percent of profit per month, and I keep to live off of the remaining Y percent."  That being said here are few questions to ask yourself.  They are not fun to answer, but I believe you have to look at them to run a profitable business.  

1.  While I love custom work, how long will the custom work going to pay for the upgraded machine $1,250 just for Glide?