A question about a commissioned quilt

Hello, I've searched the forum for the answer to this question, but didn't find it, and am unable to find an answer in Goole, so I'm hoping you all can help.  Please forgive me if this is an unacceptable question - as my name indicates, I'm very new to this process.

And as you can already tell, I am new to the forum.  :)  I'm not a quilter myself, but I've commissioned a quilt and it seems to be taking an awfully long time.  I've paid half the agreed upon price and purchased all of the fabric myself.  Anything else that needs to be purchased will be reimbursed on top of the over $1000 I'm paying for the expertise and time.  

Everything she needs is in place.  The design is finalized, some difficult panels have been completed, and now I wait.  

What's a reasonable amount of time (from receiving fabric) to presenting the finished product, do you think?  Considering that the quilter has a life, etc.?

Thanks for your input.  Not sure where to go with this.  I don't want to tell you how long it's been because I don't want to infuence any answers I get.

Well, I don't know. What did you agree upon up front? How long have you waited so far? I have a quilt of my own that took 2 years to finish piecing because it was so intense it stressed me out to work on it too steadily. I personally would give a client a nine month time frame for piecing and quilting...by machine..a complex pattern. If it was hand quilted, that would be much longer because I am retired and DO have a life.

I think you need to call her and discuss an estimated completion date. Some people need a deadline in order to motivate them. Agree upon a reasonable one for both of you.