My Dilemma

Hi all, im new to the site but not new to quilting, i have been quilting with my sewing machine for quite a few years and it is now time to move to a mid or long arm, i only quilt for myself and have no desire to begin a business, i do want a quality machine but dont have the funds to buy the best of the best, sew here are my thoughts , i could afford to buy a used APQS and frame or i could buy a new Qnique with frame, sew give me your thoughts , would a used APQS, be a better machine than say a new Qnique or similiar machine, also keep in mind I live in northern BC and have no dealers close by, thanks for all recomenditions   Gail

Welcome Gail

In my opinion I think the better deal would be a used professional quality machine like an APQS.  If you find you don’t want to quilt after a couple of years the used APQS machine will be easier to sell and will depreciate less.  The factory has wonderful support and encourages  you to service the machine yourself.  They will send detailed instructions with excellent pictures should you ever have to make repairs.  Let the BC dealers and Sparrow Studioz in Edmonton know what you are looking for as they may hear of someone wanting to sell or upgrade to a newer machine.  If you are patient a deal will come along.  There is one for sale right now in Surrey but let it sit for a while, I don’t think it will sell for anywhere near the current asking price.

Nigel

Hi Gail