bearding

I'm at a loss as to why I'm having bearding on quilt backs.  I believe I have the batting between the top and back sandwiched properly (pimples down dimples up) 80/20 batting.   I'm using glide 40 in the top and a glide 60 magna bobbin in the bottom.  New needle with each quilt, size 4.0.  I'm new to long arm quilting (March 18)  and I own an APQS Freddie.  Also,  When I first got my machine I practiced with Warm and natural cotton batting (dirty side up) sandwiched between quilting cotton using glide 40 in the top and I believe superiors prewound bobbins (cardboard sides)  that come in the sampler that comes with a  new machine.  Size 4.0 needle.  There was not one speck of bearding.  It's my understanding that 80/20 is the go to batting for most quilts.   Does anyone out there have some wisdom they would like to share?  It would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance.:)

Horse:  What are you using for backing fabric?  Loose weaves will show batting and look like bearding.  In my experience, MODA fabrics in dark colors don't perform well.  The "wrong" side tend to be very light in color in relation to the "right" side.  When you quilt, the woven fabric thread will roll over, and look like bearding.  It isn't.  I'd guess that any other fabric with light "wrong" side, will perform the same way.  You might need to be more selective about your backing fabric.   Jim