Bobbin thread black with ???

I'm working on a QOV quilt with a white backing..of course, right?....and I noticed that my granny smith apple green thread has areas that is black.  It's the bobbin thread only.  Before starting this quilt I removed and cleaned the bobbin, wiped out the bobbin case, and made sure everything was working great since EVERYTHING would show on the back of this quilt.  I didn't expect to have the problem I'm having, and not sure what's causing it. I'm NOT technical at all.  Cleaning the bobbin itself is about as techie as I get. 

It's not the entire thread.  It shows up randomly.

Any ideas on where the trouble is and what I can do about it?