upcoming Innovations in Tacoma

Hi all,

I need help. You all know I am a newbie. I went last year to try all the machines. This is my question. If you had spent all your money on your machine, CL ,templates and getting set up which classes would be the best ones for me to take?. I can go to about 4-6 classes. ANY suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Nora

Washougal Washington

Millenium

Hi Nora,

In the Innovations catalog there are great descriptions of the class topic. There is also a listing of classes recommended for beginners in the front of the catalog. I did the same thing as you, only a year earlier. Went and tried the machines in 2005, and in 2006 took classes and learned lots. Sometimes, unfortunatley, you learn that the teacher or class that sounded so promising is not one for you. I think you have to write those off to experience, and hopefully learn something from that.

My other suggestion would be to not overbook yourself. My thought last year was that I had X number of days, and better get as many classes in as I could. That resulted in brain overload. Take paper and pen for notes, plus you usually receive handouts. Go, have fun, learn lots, and plan for 2008.

Beth

Hi Nora--

Since you have a CL to help with overalls and perhaps block designs, you may want to look at freehand stuff--fills, feathers, edge-to-edge, etc.

Dawn Cavanaugh #333 class has a lot of good beginner ideas.

Any business related class might be good if you aren't up and running yet.

Megan Best has good advice for the serious, gotta-make-a-living-at-this student so either #227 or#327 might be something to look at.

I took a class from Kay Oft last year and she was charming and full of ideas and advice--#307.

Sue Patten is a scream and soooo talented. She has #229.

So many choices!! Good luck and I hope to see some familiar faces there this year and new faces to match the names from the chat!

Linda Rech

25 mile South of Innovations in Olympia

Hi,