Professional as a CPA, Newbie as a Quilter

This is in response to lots of posts I have seen about CPA services. I am new as a long arm quilter but experienced as a CPA and would not mind bartering my CPA services for long arm quilting advice and techniques.

I am a CPA in NC and just bought a Millennium. I am starting a night time business "specializing in long arm quilting" but I am also a CPA since 2002 and work at the University of North Carolina at Greensboro full time in the Accounting Services. I don't mind answering accounting questions one-on-one. I can also perform CPA services and tax services for your company. Since I am new at my quilting business and trying to make money, my CPA rates will be very reasonable for the new business owners especially during the start-up stage. As I get more customers in quilting and as a CPA for quilting businesses, my rates will go up. So take advantage on my quilting "newbie" status and my real experience as a CPA. Send me an email at joanne@yeoldeforest.com or call me at (336) 638-5076.:)

As a CPA, my understanding is that you do not charge tax on services. Long arm quilting "services" are not taxable but selling products are taxable. As a CPA, when I prepare personal taxes, I do not charge sales tax since this is considered a service.

However, this is where it gets a little trickier. If you sell batting to your customers in addition to your quilting services, then you would charge tax on the batting. But the "price per inch" or your hourly rate you charge for quilting the quilt top is not taxable.

Another example, if you do not allow your customers to bring their own batting and you provide the batting as part of your services and pricing structure for quilting, then you would not charge sale tax as this is part of the services you provide. See the difference?

Oh..Thanks Dawn C. for your wonderful help with my purchase from APQS a few weeks ago!! I love Milton!

Originally posted by yeoldeforest